Social Media: a positive or a negative thing

I would have to say throughout the entire day I scan social media cites probably around 20 times a day just for a few minutes. I mainly do this during breakfast and lunch, in between classes, and when I have time off. My main purpose of using social media is to get updates on what’s happing around me and in the world.  I also use social media to post my own comments in an attempt to share something new with my followers or friends. It is amazing how news are currently first spread to mass audiences by social media, simply because they have a greater impact and a huge following by people all across the world. I would say the amount of time spent on social media by people could be either a positive or negative thing. It all depends on how much time you are spending on it and for what purpose, if it’s for gossip and it distracts you from actual work than its definitely a negative thing because it doesn’t help rather hurts one. However, if you are using your time wisely on the social media and getting some constructive information from it that make you a well informed and all rounder human being than it a positive thing. Lastly, I personally feel that by spending more amount of time on the social media you could actually benefit by helping your business become more cognizant in the public eye. Instead of spending money on advertising social media is free and viral, so let’s make the most positive use from it.

Photo Courtesy: Google

7 thoughts on “Social Media: a positive or a negative thing

  1. Dhara,

    Thank for the reply. It seems to me that we have similar views on the use of social media and its effect on the public. One thing that I did not really think about much, is the way using social media opens up a huge advertisement window for companies, for free. I thought about it some but not enough to elaborate on it. I am actually taking Fundamentals of Multi Media this semester and we have to create a website for some organization or business. My parents own their own business and they do not pay a PR agent to maintain the face of their company. They do it themselves, through advertisements. In this MMC class, I am going to create them a website, for free, that they can use as advertisement. I have also considered getting them into the FACEBOOK world, however, my parents are, by no means, tech savvy and I do not know how I feel about having them on facebook. Anyway, the point is, using social media sites is a GREAT way for businesses to stay up with competition, inform the public, and advertise for free.

  2. Dhara,

    I completely agree with the fact that social media is a positive or negative thing depending on what you are using it for. Sometimes I get caught up in Facebook and I have to stop myself because I feel like I am wasting my time (there is always school work I should be doing anyways). But, like you said, it can be a very positive thing for businesses. They are allowed to stay in touch with their customers and fans without and distance constraints. I have read in several textbooks that businesses are cutting back on advertisement costs and engaging more in social media because customers like to feel that they can interact with the business. People also like the fact that they can voice their opinion on a certain topic (good or bad) but it makes them feel like they matter more when there is a two-way communication happening.

  3. I agree that social media needs to be used in moderation to keep up with the world, not to gossip or anything. I know SO many people who use social media way too much and distract themsevles and never get anything done. They wonder why it takes them 10 hours to write a simple paper!

  4. Love this blog! Mine is a lot like it. I agree that it can be positive or negative depending on how it is used and what it’s used for. I’m like you and I am constantly checking my twitter feed and facebook notifications throughout the day when I have at least 10 seconds to myself. Thanks to all of my PR classes, I have learned how to use my social media in more proficient way. I also love the fact that it’s free and an easy way to get the word out.

  5. I liked your way of explaining how checking these social media sites can be extremely beneficial to a company or business. I too check my twitter and facebook atleast 20 times a day- maybe a little too often. But at the same time, I’m becoming more aware of whats going on around me and that can’t be too bad right?

Leave a comment